12
Dec
07

Vegan bday celebration, part deux

veganbday-005.jpg

The precursor to vegan carrot cake was dinner from A Quest for Fresh, a raw food, African-influenced vegan restaurant in Mt. Rainier (near Glut Food Co-op). I had an avocado sandwich and split-pea soup that was super tasty, and their salads are a lot more substantial than the usual. Before I tried their food I wondered whether it would leave me craving my deep-fried fast food or MSG, but their offerings are flavorful enough that eating healthy isn’t a hardship–it’s a pleasure.

When they found out we were celebrating my birthday, they included a complimentary slice of their carob cake. It’s a no-bake cake sweetened with dates and other goodies. Yum! The texture reminded me a bit of halva.

 http://www.happycow.net/north_america/usa/maryland/mount_rainier/index.html

0 Responses to “Vegan bday celebration, part deux”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

