25
Aug
09

the best of the trader joe’s dessert case: chocolate mousse collaboration

I regularly check the dessert case here, since the products are always changing. This new one’s my current favorite. A chocolate ganache tops a milk-chocolate mousse, supported by a rich chocolate cake bottom. I don’t even really like milk chocolate much. And I wouldn’t call myself a chocoholic (in fact, I run from those people). But this is undeniably delicious.

balcony (10)

It just takes 30 minutes to defrost from the freezer. I couldn’t wait that long to take the photo, so that’s why you see the frost on top. This box was $3.99 for two, which seems pricey at first. But when you consider that similar desserts at Whole Foods or cake shops cost about $5 each, it’s not that bad.

Any nomination for their other best desserts?

3 Responses to “the best of the trader joe’s dessert case: chocolate mousse collaboration”


  1. December 28, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    It’s an awfully pretty presentation for two dollars per person. (And a darn good photo, by the way!) I bought these at Trader Joe’s sometime last year and served them to my family. Reviews were mixed, but I thought they were delicious.

  2. 2 Rose Pankratz
    December 4, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    We like trader joes checkerboard mousse cake. Could someone tell me how this cake is made???

    Thanks Rose


Leave a Reply

