05
Dec
09

Trader Joe’s macaroons, my latest food obsession

One of the reasons I love this time of year is Trader Joe’s holiday products. There’s always an impressive selection of cookies, cakes and chocolates. I’m not sure whether these macaroons will be a holiday-only dessert, but I sincerely hope not. They’re definitely in the running as a freezer staple.

When I read about these in the holiday flyer, I was initially disappointed there were only two flavors (vanilla + vanilla cream filling and chocolate + chocolate ganache filling). Now that I’ve tasted them, I’m even more sad about the limited flavors. They’re good enough to deserve a product extension.

First, this box of a dozen is a pretty decent value, at $4.99/dozen (macaroons are usually at least $1 each at patisseries). Second, they’re just as tasty as what you’d buy at the patisserie, if not better. Even though I was initially worried that they’d lose their crisipiness in the defrosting process, you’d never know they came from the freezer. The cookie portion of the sandwich is crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside (it’s a combination of egg whites and ground almonds, so it eats like a meringue).

The real clincher was the filling. The vanilla cream is lightly sweet and fragrant; the chocolate ganache, the perfect balance of bitter and sweet. (Try the chocolate macaroon before it’s completely defrosted if you prefer a chewy center.) I was so impressed that even I texted a girlfriend, a fellow macaroon fiend, to stock up on these before other Trader Joe’s cutomers get their hands on them.

3 Responses to “Trader Joe’s macaroons, my latest food obsession”


  1. 1 wotv
    December 6, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Wow, I saw these in the freezer the other day and wondered about them. Went to France this year and have been obsessed about these things since. I’m also obsessed about petit fours…

  2. 2 Charlie
    April 24, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    Amazing—how do they get away with that price–i guess everything French does not have to be expensive

  3. September 10, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    As the manager of the bakery who produces these for Trader Joe’s, I assure you these aren’t the only flavors we produce! Please visit http://www.frenchpatisserie.com and search for macarons. They’re just the only flavors we produce for TJ. Tell them Carter sent you if you call or email gateau@frenchpatisserie.com.


Leave a Reply

