05
Aug
10

Mustache cupcakes for a mustachioed coworker

Anna's cupcakes for our coworker James, whose 'stache is always impeccably groomed, on his last day. Photo magic by Lewis.

Our guest blogger today is my coworker Anna, baker extraordinaire, Team Cake:

I found this recipe by simply entering “mustache cupcakes” into Google, clicking on the first result that appeared, and–voila!–I was in business. I then recruited two girlfriends, Terrell and Kristin, to help me out with the execution. Our biggest challenges in execution were two-fold: one, cutting out the mustaches, and two, mounting them onto dowels, as recommended.

The homemade fondant required multiple stints in the freezer to keep it from melting entirely; because we were using paring knives to cut out our ‘staches and were required to work quickly, we abandoned our plan for using a template to create uniform shapes. I think the unique ‘stache per cupcake is more fun, anyway.

We also decided not to mount them on dowels, and instead elected to place them on top of the cupcakes. To make them stand out more, we whipped up a quick vanilla buttercream frosting instead of the recommended chocolate glaze.

I refrigerated them overnight, rushed them to work the next morning, and circa 11 am, much merriment was had by all.

Click on the photo for how-to's via Sprinklebakes.com. Stache-tastic photo courtesy of Erin R.

1 Response to “Mustache cupcakes for a mustachioed coworker”


  1. August 11, 2010 at 12:10 am

    I think I would have made them out of molded chocolate… I could swear I’ve seen a chocolate mustache molded somewhere. Well, at least it’s one of those things that SHOULD exist.


Leave a Reply

